Push? just not the same.
Moderator: Moderators
-
- Rebel Colonel
- Posts: 566
- Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 7:03 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Push? just not the same.
I've been trying to get push on the explosions, but nothing seems to work. Even working push based grenades from swbf1 don't work. From what i've tested so far, push seems to relate to damage done somehow, because whenever i get a working push it kills you instantly.
Push = "5.0"
PushRadius = "2.0"
-this is the non-working push value. Note that i want it to push a unit but not kill them.
Push = "10.0"
PushRadiusInner = "5.0"
PushRadiusOuter = "7.0"
-Here is a working push, but it kills instantly.
-Finally, here is force push,
Push = "0.0"
PushRadius = "0.0"
PushDeadOnly = "1"
This confuses me , how is it that force push works with a 0 push value, yet one with a push value of 10 or 2 doesn't. Also, what could PushDeadOnly mean?
Push = "5.0"
PushRadius = "2.0"
-this is the non-working push value. Note that i want it to push a unit but not kill them.
Push = "10.0"
PushRadiusInner = "5.0"
PushRadiusOuter = "7.0"
-Here is a working push, but it kills instantly.
-Finally, here is force push,
Push = "0.0"
PushRadius = "0.0"
PushDeadOnly = "1"
This confuses me , how is it that force push works with a 0 push value, yet one with a push value of 10 or 2 doesn't. Also, what could PushDeadOnly mean?
- [RDH]Zerted
- Gametoast Staff
- Posts: 2982
- Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:36 am
- Projects :: Bos Wars AI - a RTS game
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: USA
- Contact:
RE: Push? just not the same.
Normally, 0 = false or no and 1 = yes or true. PushDeadOnly = "1" would mean push only dead units. You would need to set this to "0" so it can also push live units.
-
- Rebel Colonel
- Posts: 566
- Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 7:03 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
RE: Push? just not the same.
Hmm, well that doesn't explain the push values, nor does it explain why force push pushes live units when its set to PushDeadOnly.
-
- Old School Staff
- Posts: 2059
- Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 9:54 am
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
RE: Push? just not the same.
try to set it to "0"?
and explain what happens...?
and explain what happens...?
- Teancum
- Jedi Admin
- Posts: 11080
- Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: Indiana
RE: Push? just not the same.
PushDeadOnly might be an obsolete variable, too.
-
- Rebel Colonel
- Posts: 566
- Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 7:03 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
RE: Push? just not the same.
wonder if PushRadiusInner and PushRadiusOuter have something to do with it, since these were taken straight from swbf1.
Oh and yeah, PushDeadOnly doesn't work.
Oh and yeah, PushDeadOnly doesn't work.
RE: Push? just not the same.
This all really depends on what .odfs you are editing as there are _ord and _exp ones as well as normal weap ones. The "push" in force push comes from the ordnance so that what comes out of the weapon pushes you not the explosion which is what happens when the weapons ordnance explodes or hits someone. To get a push grenade i would change the damage to 0 in the explosion .odf of the grenade. Though i'm not 100% certain on this, i hope it helps.
-
- Rebel Colonel
- Posts: 566
- Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 7:03 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
RE: Push? just not the same.
Yep, i've done a lot of experimenting with push in the past in swbf1. Here though, changing the damage amount seems to enable or disable the push. Example:
-This Works
Damage = "200.0"
DamageRadiusInner = "6.0"
DamageRadiusOuter = "2.0"
Push = "10.0"
PushRadiusInner = "5.0"
PushRadiusOuter = "7.0"
-This Doesn't
Damage = "20.0"
DamageRadiusInner = "6.0"
DamageRadiusOuter = "2.0"
Push = "10.0"
PushRadiusInner = "5.0"
PushRadiusOuter = "7.0"
Note that the person scale on the explosion is 2.5, killing the unit instantly in the first but not in the second example.
-This Works
Damage = "200.0"
DamageRadiusInner = "6.0"
DamageRadiusOuter = "2.0"
Push = "10.0"
PushRadiusInner = "5.0"
PushRadiusOuter = "7.0"
-This Doesn't
Damage = "20.0"
DamageRadiusInner = "6.0"
DamageRadiusOuter = "2.0"
Push = "10.0"
PushRadiusInner = "5.0"
PushRadiusOuter = "7.0"
Note that the person scale on the explosion is 2.5, killing the unit instantly in the first but not in the second example.
RE: Push? just not the same.
Astute - if PushDeadOnly = 1, then if the explosion kills the unit it will push them, since they are dead. (^.^)
For Force Push: An EmitterOrdnance (force_push_ord) can have a Push value inside it, which force_push_ord does. This push applies to everything, alive or dead. In the force_push_exp, it does damage but has PushDeadOnly = 1. So the push from Force Push comes from the EmitterOrdnance, not the explosion - though the damage comes from the explosion. However, this is a special case.
PushDeadOnly does in fact work, and it only applies to explosions (ClassLabel = "explosion"), nothing else. In BF2, pushing live units with an explosion is only used in one place - the Wampa's jump attack explosion (800 dmg) will push other Wampas (1800 health) even if they aren't dead, done with PushDeadOnly = 0. If you want to see it more easily, change the damage to 0 as well, or set PushDeadOnly = 0 in a grenade somewhere.
PushDeadOnly = 1 is the default, if I remember right.
Mike Z
For Force Push: An EmitterOrdnance (force_push_ord) can have a Push value inside it, which force_push_ord does. This push applies to everything, alive or dead. In the force_push_exp, it does damage but has PushDeadOnly = 1. So the push from Force Push comes from the EmitterOrdnance, not the explosion - though the damage comes from the explosion. However, this is a special case.
PushDeadOnly does in fact work, and it only applies to explosions (ClassLabel = "explosion"), nothing else. In BF2, pushing live units with an explosion is only used in one place - the Wampa's jump attack explosion (800 dmg) will push other Wampas (1800 health) even if they aren't dead, done with PushDeadOnly = 0. If you want to see it more easily, change the damage to 0 as well, or set PushDeadOnly = 0 in a grenade somewhere.
PushDeadOnly = 1 is the default, if I remember right.
Mike Z
- [RDH]Zerted
- Gametoast Staff
- Posts: 2982
- Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:36 am
- Projects :: Bos Wars AI - a RTS game
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: USA
- Contact:
RE: Push? just not the same.
It would be nice to be able to get back the push effects of all the weapons like in SWBF1.
-
- Rebel Colonel
- Posts: 566
- Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 7:03 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
RE: Push? just not the same.
Oh, that makes a lot of sense. When i first saw PushDeadonly i thought it would be something like pushing bodies around, made me think why you'd ever need an option like that.