XSI ZETools

How to create models in XSI and other 3D applications and make them work in Battlefront 1 & 2. Post models, tips for application usage and share anything XSI, 3DMax, SketchUp, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Marth8880
Resistance Leader
Posts: 5042
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 8:43 pm
Projects :: DI2 + Psychosis
Games I'm Playing :: Silent Hill 2
xbox live or psn: Marth8880
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by Marth8880 »

Hmm, odd anyway. :o


EDIT:

Oh, also, I seemed to have successfully (I think) exported a unit animation before I attempted the door one, but for some reason it's not munging and no related errors are output in ZenAsset.log. :?
User avatar
ANDEWEGET
Ancient Force
Ancient Force
Posts: 1266
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:42 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by ANDEWEGET »

New features!

Video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y0lizSAc ... e=youtu.be


Pics:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
Image
Geometry Import: So, made the Ignore Geometry option togglable from the UI. If checked it will only import Nulls, otherwise it will try to import geometry. If Triangulate n-Gons is checked all polygons which have more than 4 sides in the .msh will be converted into tris, if unchecked it will try to put some quads in, too. Collision primitives are not actually imported, I create primitives on the location of the primitives in the .msh and then set primitive flags so they are fully functioning on reexport. Vertex Colors are easy and might come soon. Right now only the first segment is imported so importing all segments has a high priority, too.

Debug/Safe Import: Safe import will add a flag to the executable which does the CRC stuff(for animations). That flags will slow it down but might make it work if it didn't before. Debug is even slower but has that flag plus extra report functions/messages. Take a pic of those messages and upload them. These should give me a better understanding of what doesn't work.

Material Import: Material colors, gloss value and main texture get imported. ZETools compatible ZEFlags aren't implemented yet. But will come soon.

Changelog:
  • Updated: sicore, zetcore.
    Import: Geometry with UVs.
    Import: Materials.
    Import Collision primitives.
    Import: Added Debug(run that mode if you experience problems).
    Import: Added 'Safe' import(slower but more likely to work).
    Import: Triangulate n-gons. Triangulates n-gons on import(otherwise will try to get some quads in, too).

    msh2_crc: Added crc_debug and crc_safe.
    msh2_crc: Added CRCError.
    msh2_unpack: Fixed STRP unpack, fixed texture unpack. Added code to prevent errors on bad STRP chunks. Added code to cut 5+ sided polygons into tris(and quads).
    msh2: Added functions to Face and FaceCollection to get XSI import right.
    msh2: Fixed properties and decorators not working properly(all root objects now inherit from object).
User avatar
AceMastermind
Gametoast Staff
Gametoast Staff
Posts: 3285
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by AceMastermind »

:faint:
You've outdone yourself this time, this has turned out to be a complete "all you need" tool! :thumbs:

I found at least one animation that wouldn't load with the previous release.
  • Vehicle\cis_fly_maf\takeoff.msh
The animation seems to go from frame 2-70 when examined in a hex editor, could be why it fails to import but I don't know.
Some of the basepose.msh files wouldn't load either, examples:
  • SoldierAnimationBank\bdroid\basepose.msh
    SoldierAnimationBank\human_0\basepose.msh
User avatar
ANDEWEGET
Ancient Force
Ancient Force
Posts: 1266
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:42 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by ANDEWEGET »

Thanks! :)
Do you get an error during import or is the result wrong?
I checked out human_0 basepose and MAF takeoff. The basepose imports but the transforms seem to be messed up. The MAF animation imports(gear3 - gear1 move, animated from 2 to 70). The turret hierarchy transforms could be wrong(aimer barrel and hp_lasers are at the same point).
I did not change any animation import code(yet) so the older version you have shouldn't be the problem.

I'm actually surprised that importing geometry is so easy. I really thought that it was slow and overly complex to do. It seems I just had no idea how to approach it.
User avatar
minilogoguy18
Master Bounty Hunter
Master Bounty Hunter
Posts: 1512
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 11:12 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: I have not listed any games yet
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by minilogoguy18 »

While I don't actively mod this game anymore I like to keep up with this project since it's the most important thing going on with modding this game.

Amazing job.
User avatar
AceMastermind
Gametoast Staff
Gametoast Staff
Posts: 3285
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by AceMastermind »

ANDEWEGET wrote:Do you get an error during import or is the result wrong?
For the MAF takeoff.msh, the import freezes immediately on "Building chain...", to proceed you have to cancel the operation.

Error
Hidden/Spoiler:
[code]# ERROR : Traceback (most recent call last):
# File "<Script Block >", line 80, in importbutton_OnClicked
# import_.import_()
# File "C:\users\Ace\Autodesk\Softimage_Mod_Tool_7.5\Addons\XSIZEtools\Application\Core\andezetimport.py", line 298, in import_
# self.do_import()
# File "C:\users\Ace\Autodesk\Softimage_Mod_Tool_7.5\Addons\XSIZEtools\Application\Core\andezetimport.py", line 328, in do_import
# pc.Parameters('In').Value = self.msh.info.frame_range[0]
# AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'frame_range'
# - [line 79 in C:\users\Ace\Autodesk\Softimage_Mod_Tool_7.5\Addons\XSIZETools\Application\Logic\importer.py]
# ERROR : Property Page Script Logic Error (Python ActiveX Scripting Engine)
# ERROR : [77] params.preview()
# ERROR : [78] import_ = andezetimport.Import(xsi, params)
# ERROR : >[79] try:
# ERROR : [80] import_.import_()
# ERROR : [81] except SystemExit:
# ERROR : [82] return
# ERROR : Traceback (most recent call last):
# File "<Script Block >", line 80, in importbutton_OnClicked
# import_.import_()
# File "C:\users\Ace\Autodesk\Softimage_Mod_Tool_7.5\Addons\XSIZEtools\Application\Core\andezetimport.py", line 298, in import_
# self.do_import()
# File "C:\users\Ace\Autodesk\Softimage_Mod_Tool_7.5\Addons\XSIZEtools\Application\Core\andezetimport.py", line 328, in do_import
# pc.Parameters('In').Value = self.msh.info.frame_range[0]
# AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'frame_range'
#[/code][/size]

For bdroid\basepose.msh and other problematic basepose.msh files, the loading freezes on "Building eff_ribcage (7/51)...", to proceed you have to cancel the operation.

Error
Hidden/Spoiler:
[code]# ERROR : 2000 - Argument 2 (Parent) is invalid
# ERROR : 2001-PRIM-SIGetPrim - Argument 2 is invalid - [line 47 in C:\Softimage\Softimage_Mod_Tool_7.5\Application\DSScripts\primitives.vbs]
Application.GetPrim("Null", "eff_ribcage", "bone_ribcage", "")
# ERROR : Traceback (most recent call last):
# File "<Script Block >", line 80, in importbutton_OnClicked
# import_.import_()
# File "C:\users\Ace\Autodesk\Softimage_Mod_Tool_7.5\Addons\XSIZEtools\Application\Core\andezetimport.py", line 298, in import_
# self.do_import()
# File "C:\users\Ace\Autodesk\Softimage_Mod_Tool_7.5\Addons\XSIZEtools\Application\Core\andezetimport.py", line 321, in do_import
# self.chain = builder.build()
# File "C:\users\Ace\Autodesk\Softimage_Mod_Tool_7.5\Addons\XSIZEtools\Application\Core\andezetimport.py", line 93, in build
# chain.append(self.build_null(model))
# File "C:\users\Ace\Autodesk\Softimage_Mod_Tool_7.5\Addons\XSIZEtools\Application\Core\andezetimport.py", line 140, in build_null
# link = self.xsi.GetPrim('Null', model.name, model.parent_name)
# File "<COMObject Application>", line 2, in GetPrim
# COM Error: The parameter is incorrect. (0x-7ff8ffa9) - [line 79 in C:\users\Ace\Autodesk\Softimage_Mod_Tool_7.5\Addons\XSIZETools\Application\Logic\importer.py]
# ERROR : Property Page Script Logic Error (Python ActiveX Scripting Engine)
# ERROR : [77] params.preview()
# ERROR : [78] import_ = andezetimport.Import(xsi, params)
# ERROR : >[79] try:
# ERROR : [80] import_.import_()
# ERROR : [81] except SystemExit:
# ERROR : [82] return
# ERROR : Traceback (most recent call last):
# File "<Script Block >", line 80, in importbutton_OnClicked
# import_.import_()
# File "C:\users\Ace\Autodesk\Softimage_Mod_Tool_7.5\Addons\XSIZEtools\Application\Core\andezetimport.py", line 298, in import_
# self.do_import()
# File "C:\users\Ace\Autodesk\Softimage_Mod_Tool_7.5\Addons\XSIZEtools\Application\Core\andezetimport.py", line 321, in do_import
# self.chain = builder.build()
# File "C:\users\Ace\Autodesk\Softimage_Mod_Tool_7.5\Addons\XSIZEtools\Application\Core\andezetimport.py", line 93, in build
# chain.append(self.build_null(model))
# File "C:\users\Ace\Autodesk\Softimage_Mod_Tool_7.5\Addons\XSIZEtools\Application\Core\andezetimport.py", line 140, in build_null
# link = self.xsi.GetPrim('Null', model.name, model.parent_name)
# File "<COMObject Application>", line 2, in GetPrim
# COM Error: The parameter is incorrect. (0x-7ff8ffa9)
[/code][/size]


ZETools is advanced enough now so there is really no need for templates anymore, you can just import what you want to see when you need it.
User avatar
Tears2Roses
Chief Warrant Officer
Chief Warrant Officer
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:20 am
Projects :: Oh some random stuff who knows
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2
xbox live or psn: PC beats xbox.

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by Tears2Roses »

AMAZING job ande! :bowdown: :faint: However, I disagree with ace. I use the templates a fair bit.
User avatar
ANDEWEGET
Ancient Force
Ancient Force
Posts: 1266
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:42 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by ANDEWEGET »

Must have been .msh parse errors.
I forgot to set transform for nulls so yesterday the baseposes didn't import right. Today they do. I tested both baseposes and the MAF. The baseposes work, I believe the MAF takeoff does, too.

Changelog since yesterday:
  • Import: Enabled Apply Animation option. Tries to apply animation to selected hierarchy.
    Import: Added Ignore Animation if you only want to import geometry.
    Import: Added weights/envelope support.
    Import: Added support for multiple segments.
    msh2_crc: Added code to prevent file not found errors on subprocess.call.
    Import: Fixed poly meshes not being parented correctly.
Plus: cool video.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=puqIf-8v ... e=youtu.be

Note that you can't change any names.

And to thank you for the comments:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Image
:D Created with the same process.
User avatar
AceMastermind
Gametoast Staff
Gametoast Staff
Posts: 3285
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by AceMastermind »

Fantastic! Where's the donate button on your site? :bowdown: :D

*embedded your video*
User avatar
ANDEWEGET
Ancient Force
Ancient Force
Posts: 1266
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:42 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by ANDEWEGET »

On the Main page... :wink:
The experience I gathered over the last year(since I began to write the exporter) really shows now. Doing what I've done in ~6 hours today would have taken days, if not weeks, when I began doing stuff with .msh files and XSI.

There are still some problems with edges missing/between the wrong points(you can see it on the head of the droid I posted). A quad is wrapping around the edge of the head and XSI draws it's (internal) automatic triangles 'wrong' so you can see a dent in the head.
Lephenix
Captain
Captain
Posts: 497
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 6:46 am
Projects :: Becoming a Concept Artist-Illustrator
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by Lephenix »

You are awesome my friend, you just created "the everything you need for swbf2 tool". 8)
User avatar
ANDEWEGET
Ancient Force
Ancient Force
Posts: 1266
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:42 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by ANDEWEGET »

Thank$!

I'll try to get a 'beta' or so released next week. Until then TODO:
  • Fix cube prims not importing correctly.
    Prim type 1?!
    Vertex Colors.
    Material flags.
    Cloth mesh.
Just by looking at the video/images, any wishes/ideas for functionality?
Last edited by ANDEWEGET on Wed Oct 10, 2012 8:01 am, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
Tears2Roses
Chief Warrant Officer
Chief Warrant Officer
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:20 am
Projects :: Oh some random stuff who knows
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2
xbox live or psn: PC beats xbox.

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by Tears2Roses »

I think it would be incredible if somehow someone figured out how to make first person animations.
User avatar
ANDEWEGET
Ancient Force
Ancient Force
Posts: 1266
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:42 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by ANDEWEGET »

Well, that's not really my specialisation. I have no clue about when or if the engine chooses to load an animation or not.
User avatar
Cleb
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 10:12 pm
Projects :: Learning how to use 3DS Max
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 CIV4 MC
xbox live or psn: ˙. ˙. ˙. ˙. ˙. ˙
Location: Somewhere
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by Cleb »

I'm really sorry if this is in the wrong place, but a few days ago I got Mod Tool 7.5 and today I downloaded the ZE tools, but at the top toolbar, the ze tools option isn't there. Could somebody help please? :runaway: :oops:
User avatar
Tears2Roses
Chief Warrant Officer
Chief Warrant Officer
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:20 am
Projects :: Oh some random stuff who knows
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2
xbox live or psn: PC beats xbox.

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by Tears2Roses »

look through the pages, you will find the answer. :wink: Specifically somewhere in pages 7-13 I think.
User avatar
ANDEWEGET
Ancient Force
Ancient Force
Posts: 1266
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:42 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by ANDEWEGET »

ANDEWEGET wrote:Most likely you need to install python. Check the guidelines page which is linked on the first page of this thread.
Quick report: The primitive stuff is sorted out. Importing material flags doesn't work yet, a function which otherwise works suddenly doesn't work anymore. I found out that importing models exported from my exporter doesn't fully work(UVs and vertex colors are messed up, geometry seems to work) because my exporter uses a different indexing method. I'll have to see if I can get that working either by changing the exporter (without rewriting too much code) or adding another 'import mode' for the importer.

I'll let that cloth mesh import stuff rest for now. Before I spend time on that I'd rather get cloth export to work.

EDIT: Just used a flawed algorithm which only kicked in when I imported models exported with the ZETools. UVs and vertex colors seem to work now.
User avatar
Cleb
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 10:12 pm
Projects :: Learning how to use 3DS Max
Games I'm Playing :: BF2 CIV4 MC
xbox live or psn: ˙. ˙. ˙. ˙. ˙. ˙
Location: Somewhere
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by Cleb »

Hmmm ok so I downloaded C++ 2010 and both of the Python things and now the XSIZE Tools tab appears but when I click export the little red bar at the bottom of the screen below the animation playback thing says:
Hidden/Spoiler:
Traceback (most recent call last):. File "<Script Block>", line 36, in exportbutton_OnClicked. export.export(). File "C:\Users\<not going to write my username for privacy purposes>\Autodesk\Softimage_Mod_Tool_...: Invalid number of parameters. (0x-7ffdfff2)
Most likely I'm doing something wrong that's really obvious, but I'm new to this and need help :( :oops:
User avatar
ANDEWEGET
Ancient Force
Ancient Force
Posts: 1266
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:42 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by ANDEWEGET »

ANDEWEGET wrote:Is that the full traceback? You can open the script editor with the Scroll button or Alt + 4. Then copy all the red text and paste it here.
Added 1.1.11.07 to the first page.
Note if animation import/export doesn't work: open up the importer, find a .msh with animation, then enable 'Safe' Import in the settings tab and try to import that animation. If that doesn't work disable 'Safe' Import and enable Debug. Try to import again. If that doesn't work either, past the red text from the script editor(Alt + 4) here.
I added some code which should at least fix the problem of python not finding the .exe file but there might be more.

Changelog:
  • Import: Fixed cube primitive import.
    Import: Fixed primitive type 1 import.
    Import: Fixed UV and vertex color algorithm.
    Import: Added support for Vertex Colors.
    Export: Fixed vertex color export.
    Export: Exporter now exports local vertex coordinates, not world coordinates. World coordinates would break scale because I didn't set the scale to 1 afterwards. It seemingly still worked ingame...
User avatar
AceMastermind
Gametoast Staff
Gametoast Staff
Posts: 3285
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: XSI ZETools

Post by AceMastermind »

The weighting on the main body of the ATTE (rep_walk_atte.msh) doesn't import, with or without Safe Import enabled. No errors are thrown.
The same thing happens with the ATRT main body (rep_walk_oneman_atst.msh) and the ATAT (imp_walk_atat.msh) body too.

Geometry, UVs and skeleton import is looking pretty good though! I'm seeing some of those edges turned wrong or incomplete triangulation like you mentioned before, for example the back part of the gungan's lower legs and heel.

jed_inf_sith.msh and rep_inf_arctrooper.msh import without weighting.
Post Reply