Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
Moderator: Moderators
- trainmaster611
- Sith Lord
- Posts: 1779
- Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:22 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: Building a railway to Coruscant
- Contact:
Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
Pushing objects can't be done with the SWBF2 engine. What you could do however is to spawn a box as a unit. I'm not sure if its as easy as substituting in the msh though.
-
- Gametoast Staff
- Posts: 1351
- Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm
Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
That sounds cool, I'm not sure if we can do anything with force powers, but perhaps an obstacle course to measure agility would be practical.
Some more write-ups:
Some more write-ups:
Hidden/Spoiler:
- Teancum
- Jedi Admin
- Posts: 11080
- Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: Indiana
Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
We could also do random models in order to provide some variety. Here's some pseudocode to demonstrate.
Now that may not be even possible to capture a specific instance of someone spawning, but if it was, you could basically run that array code and have it assign a new playermodel per spawning instance. These new player models without odfs would have to be put into the req manually since they aren't attached to an odf, but if the script works, the rest would too.
Code: Select all
OnCharacterSpawn()
randomNumber = rand() * 5
newlySpawnedGuy = GetEntityMatrix([GET THE NEWLY SPAWNED CHARACTER])
SetProperty(newlySpawnedGuy, "GeometryName" "Model[randomNumber]")
- tsurugi13
- Lieutenant Colonel
- Posts: 543
- Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 6:16 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: Battling the ISA menace on Helghan.
Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
An elevator?RepSharpshooter wrote:Yeah textures are kinda difficult to get working. Make sure you delete any redundant materials/material libraries that aren't being used. Also, make sure you follow the cluster rules.
The jedi temple is going to be pretty big.
By the way, does anyone have any more ideas for the jedi temple besides a sparring arena?

-
- 2008 Most Original Avatar
- Posts: 3096
- Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 5:55 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: X-Fire: caleb1117 ಠ_ಠ
Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
Lol, yea not to worry, there will be an elevator.tsurugi13 wrote:An elevator?RepSharpshooter wrote:Yeah textures are kinda difficult to get working. Make sure you delete any redundant materials/material libraries that aren't being used. Also, make sure you follow the cluster rules.
The jedi temple is going to be pretty big.
By the way, does anyone have any more ideas for the jedi temple besides a sparring arena?I think TheITfactor has one made.
-
- Supreme Galactic Ruler
- Posts: 2118
- Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 6:30 am
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: Waaaaay over there.
Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
Err, maybe some room with training droids to fight against or something?Caleb1117 wrote: By the way, does anyone have any more ideas for the jedi temple besides a sparring arena?
-
- Jedi
- Posts: 1104
- Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 6:04 am
- Projects :: Inactive
- Location: Germany
Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
Oh man, that will take forever to arrive at the top!Caleb1117 wrote:Lol, yea not to worry, there will be an elevator.tsurugi13 wrote:An elevator?RepSharpshooter wrote:Yeah textures are kinda difficult to get working. Make sure you delete any redundant materials/material libraries that aren't being used. Also, make sure you follow the cluster rules.
The jedi temple is going to be pretty big.
By the way, does anyone have any more ideas for the jedi temple besides a sparring arena?I think TheITfactor has one made.


- Blade
- Captain
- Posts: 496
- Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 11:02 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
I thought that if you gradually sped the elevator up, that you wouldn't fall through? I always thought it was just the initial hit that made you not connect to it.The Person Above Me wrote:Oh man, that will take forever to arrive at the top!You can't animate the elevator to fast, because then you fall through it...
![]()
-
- Gametoast Staff
- Posts: 1351
- Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm
Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
The elevator could be a vehicle and you could be in it. It could then be animated to move. Or, it may even be pilotable, but I'll try the anims first.
Also, I had the idea for some sort of agility course that encorporates moving obstacles.
A note for jedi, they must have combo's like the emperor where their sabers are not out when they're just walking around, I believe TurnOffLightsaber(); goes in the idle section. That way, jedi won't be posed for battle when they're shopping for hats...
That'll do, perhaps even some IG-88's or other droids weilding battle staffs that do not do any damage, but knock you down. Perhaps a magnaguard.The_Emperor wrote:Err, maybe some room with training droids to fight against or something?
Also, I had the idea for some sort of agility course that encorporates moving obstacles.
A note for jedi, they must have combo's like the emperor where their sabers are not out when they're just walking around, I believe TurnOffLightsaber(); goes in the idle section. That way, jedi won't be posed for battle when they're shopping for hats...
I hope that works, it would add some variety to the gameplay.Teancum wrote:We could also do random models in order to provide some variety. Here's some pseudocode to demonstrate.
Now that may not be even possible to capture a specific instance of someone spawning, but if it was, you could basically run that array code and have it assign a new playermodel per spawning instance. These new player models without odfs would have to be put into the req manually since they aren't attached to an odf, but if the script works, the rest would too.Code: Select all
OnCharacterSpawn() randomNumber = rand() * 5 newlySpawnedGuy = GetEntityMatrix([GET THE NEWLY SPAWNED CHARACTER]) SetProperty(newlySpawnedGuy, "GeometryName" "Model[randomNumber]")
- [RDH]Zerted
- Gametoast Staff
- Posts: 2982
- Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:36 am
- Projects :: Bos Wars AI - a RTS game
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: USA
- Contact:
Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
I've done it before and it works fine, but you use GetCharacterUnit(). Also, unless the 'random number generator' isn't random, if two players took a screenshot of the same ingame area, the players in it would all look different. Hmm, I think we could use the level's running time for the random number. I think that is consistant across all players.Teancum wrote:...Here's some pseudocode to demonstrate.Now that may not be even possible to capture a specific instance of someone spawning, but if it was...Code: Select all
OnCharacterSpawn() randomNumber = rand() * 5 newlySpawnedGuy = GetEntityMatrix([GET THE NEWLY SPAWNED CHARACTER]) SetProperty(newlySpawnedGuy, "GeometryName" "Model[randomNumber]")
-
- Chief Warrant Officer
- Posts: 327
- Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 12:56 pm
- Projects :: The Pwnfest and Games Complex
- xbox live or psn: You and I Know
- Location: The Old Republic
- Contact:
Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
I would like lot O1 or F4 please 

-
- Sith
- Posts: 1262
- Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:40 pm
Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
*coughPortalTurretscough*The_Emperor wrote:Err, maybe some room with training droids to fight against or something?

*sighs* still haven't done much with my lot. I think I'll wait for the prefabs to be released though.
-
- Gametoast Staff
- Posts: 2244
- Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 12:34 am
- Projects :: Not sure keep changing my mind.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: Origin name GT_FragMe
- Contact:
Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
Here is a first look at FragMe!'s Vehicle Emporium.
Note the buggy down in front.
Note the buggy down in front.
Hidden/Spoiler:
- Fluffy_the_ic
- Hoth Battle Chief
- Posts: 3223
- Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:03 pm
- xbox live or psn: fluffytherc
- Location: she/her
- Contact:
Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
Just a quick question about the Jedi Temple, couldn't you make some blocks as locals and ya move 'em by force pushing them? Just a thought. But, my building isn't working too well. In the mungelog, it says it had 1: No collision geometry, and 2: No poly count. Still.
-
- Gametoast Staff
- Posts: 1351
- Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm
Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
Prefab Pack Release
Note: if you modify any of these objects in any way, you MUST rename the msh, rename the tga, hex edit the msh to reference the renamed tga and rename the odf. Or else we'd paste over each other's stuff. If you fail to follow this direction, I will simply disregard the stuff you give me (as it would compromise the entire level).
@Fluffy_the_ic you're not putting everything under a null, you're not middle clicking on it, or you're not checking the export selection only box. (or all three if you really don't follow directions
) Train had the exact same problem, caused by not following directions.
Fun fun fun till daddy takes the pod racer away:

I'm sure thankful for mshex, or else this would still be sittin on my hardrive
Note: if you modify any of these objects in any way, you MUST rename the msh, rename the tga, hex edit the msh to reference the renamed tga and rename the odf. Or else we'd paste over each other's stuff. If you fail to follow this direction, I will simply disregard the stuff you give me (as it would compromise the entire level).
Looks great fragme! Can't wait to use it.FragMe! wrote:Here is a first look at FragMe!'s Vehicle Emporium.
Note the buggy down in front.
Hidden/Spoiler:
@Fluffy_the_ic you're not putting everything under a null, you're not middle clicking on it, or you're not checking the export selection only box. (or all three if you really don't follow directions

Fun fun fun till daddy takes the pod racer away:

I'm sure thankful for mshex, or else this would still be sittin on my hardrive

- Fluffy_the_ic
- Hoth Battle Chief
- Posts: 3223
- Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:03 pm
- xbox live or psn: fluffytherc
- Location: she/her
- Contact:
Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
I'm using a full exporter, not mshex, or do you still need to do the null stuff with a full one? But would the null take away the collision geometry? My two other models I'm testing don't have that problem.
-
- Sith
- Posts: 1262
- Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:40 pm
Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
RepSharpshooter wrote:or else this would still be sittin on my hardrive

Isn't it still?
Anyway, thanks for releasing that pack. Now I can get down to business. Also, may I ask, do the models randomly disappear in ZE like the untextured ones?
-
- 2008 Most Original Avatar
- Posts: 3096
- Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 5:55 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: X-Fire: caleb1117 ಠ_ಠ
Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
My KotOR Personal Swoop, meshex'ed.


I let Rep fool about with my .xsi file, and he found my problem, to many texture projections.
Still having trouble getting the seating null to be positioned right, at the moment, the driver floats above the vehicle.


I let Rep fool about with my .xsi file, and he found my problem, to many texture projections.
Still having trouble getting the seating null to be positioned right, at the moment, the driver floats above the vehicle.

-
- Gametoast Staff
- Posts: 2244
- Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 12:34 am
- Projects :: Not sure keep changing my mind.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: Origin name GT_FragMe
- Contact:
Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
Caleb
You may find the null for the rider might have to go very near the dummyroot null that was where it was positioned for the Durge Swoop. I believe the rider/driver animations are offset from that point.
You may find the null for the rider might have to go very near the dummyroot null that was where it was positioned for the Durge Swoop. I believe the rider/driver animations are offset from that point.
-
- Gametoast Staff
- Posts: 1351
- Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:10 pm
Re: Dynamic Map Idea (all lots open for taking)
@Fingerfood they only disappear because their bounding boxes are too small.
@caleb, it's just a bit off

I think it's a matter of the handle bar positioning rather than the hp_active. Note you can't rotate nulls with mshex, unless you can tell me how to convert euler angles into a quaternion rotation representation.
Edit, this is a must, a repair depot:

@caleb, it's just a bit off

I think it's a matter of the handle bar positioning rather than the hp_active. Note you can't rotate nulls with mshex, unless you can tell me how to convert euler angles into a quaternion rotation representation.
Edit, this is a must, a repair depot:
