Boundaries...
Moderator: Moderators
Boundaries...
Anyone get boundaries working? If so could you walk me through it? The documentation left out some important steps, I think...
RE: Boundaries...
anyone?
- [RDH]Zerted
- Gametoast Staff
- Posts: 2982
- Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:36 am
- Projects :: Bos Wars AI - a RTS game
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: USA
- Contact:
- Rends
- Sith
- Posts: 1278
- Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 6:34 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
- [RDH]Zerted
- Gametoast Staff
- Posts: 2982
- Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:36 am
- Projects :: Bos Wars AI - a RTS game
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: USA
- Contact:
For some reason, that isn't working for me. I create a boundry in ZeroEdit on the 1flag layer and resize it to 250 by 200. I go to my world1 folder, open up PCE.req, and add
REQN
{
"boundary"
"PCE"
}
after the last REQN section. Then I munge, and nothing ingame changes. I can still walk all over the level. Am I missing something? Shouldn't a boundry bring up the 'Leaving map' warning when you cross it?
REQN
{
"boundary"
"PCE"
}
after the last REQN section. Then I munge, and nothing ingame changes. I can still walk all over the level. Am I missing something? Shouldn't a boundry bring up the 'Leaving map' warning when you cross it?
- Rends
- Sith
- Posts: 1278
- Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 6:34 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
Here is my .req file in its entirety:
ucft
{
REQN
{
"config"
}
REQN
{
"texture"
"SHO_map"
}
REQN
{
"path"
"SHO"
}
REQN
{
"congraph"
"SHO"
}
REQN
{
"envfx"
"SHO"
}
REQN
{
"world"
"SHO"
}
REQN
{
"prop"
"SHO"
}
REQN
{
"boundary"
"SHO"
}
REQN
{
"class"
"bluelight"
"redlight"
"greenlight"
"whitelight"
}
REQN
{
"config"
"flyerspray"
"walkerstomp"
"hailfire_wake"
}
REQN
{
"lvl"
"SHO_conquest"
"SHO_ctf"
"SHO_conquest_gcw"
"SHO_conquest_cw"
"SHO_ctf_gcw"
"SHO_ctf_cw"
}
}
I hope that helps...
Oh... BTW... My boundary is actually named "boundary"
ucft
{
REQN
{
"config"
}
REQN
{
"texture"
"SHO_map"
}
REQN
{
"path"
"SHO"
}
REQN
{
"congraph"
"SHO"
}
REQN
{
"envfx"
"SHO"
}
REQN
{
"world"
"SHO"
}
REQN
{
"prop"
"SHO"
}
REQN
{
"boundary"
"SHO"
}
REQN
{
"class"
"bluelight"
"redlight"
"greenlight"
"whitelight"
}
REQN
{
"config"
"flyerspray"
"walkerstomp"
"hailfire_wake"
}
REQN
{
"lvl"
"SHO_conquest"
"SHO_ctf"
"SHO_conquest_gcw"
"SHO_conquest_cw"
"SHO_ctf_gcw"
"SHO_ctf_cw"
}
}
I hope that helps...
Oh... BTW... My boundary is actually named "boundary"
- [RDH]Zerted
- Gametoast Staff
- Posts: 2982
- Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:36 am
- Projects :: Bos Wars AI - a RTS game
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: USA
- Contact:
- jangoisbaddest
- Lieutenant General
- Posts: 661
- Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 12:10 am
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: All Along The Watchtower
- [RDH]Zerted
- Gametoast Staff
- Posts: 2982
- Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 7:36 am
- Projects :: Bos Wars AI - a RTS game
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: USA
- Contact:
#1 - Boundaries are just paths (they are laid out in the .PTH file, just like other paths). The only thing that makes a boundary special is that its name is mentioned in a .BND file.
#2 - in the level's .REQ,
REQN
{
"boundary"
"SHO"
}
(and BTW, the extra empty line doesn't matter) means to go and find the file SHO.BND and include it in the munged LVL file. That way, every path named in SHO.BND will become a level boundary. "boundary" is indeed an identifier, like "lvl" or "class".
#2.5 - not asked, but you can have multiple boundaries. As long as you are inside at least one boundary, you are "in-bounds".
#3 - Yes you can have different boundaries for different layers, but it's not as simple as Zerted suggests. Due to a particularity of the munge process, *all* paths are ALWAYS loaded. What this means is: if you put a boundary in your CTF layer and one in your Conquest layer, but both are mentioned in your level's single .BND file, they will BOTH always be active. Both paths are always loaded, and that BND file is always loaded, so they are both always active.
So how do you do it?
Well. An .MRQ file is a .REQ file, but it specifies all the info for a specific game mode. So what you do is, if you had for example SHO.BND which included 2 paths:
"CTF-boundary"
"Conquest-boundary"
You would:
- Make 2 new .BND files, SHO-CTF.BND and SHO-Conquest.BND, and have each one reference only the boundary it needs.
- Delete the reference to "boundary" "SHO" in your world's .REQ file.
- Add a reference to "boundary" "SHO-CTF" in the CTF.MRQ file, and add a reference to "boundary" "SHO-Conquest" in the Conquest.MRQ file.
What this does is, even though both paths are always loaded, only the .BND for CTF is loaded in CTF, so only one path is actually named as a boundary in CTF.
I hope that was clear,
Mike Z
#2 - in the level's .REQ,
REQN
{
"boundary"
"SHO"
}
(and BTW, the extra empty line doesn't matter) means to go and find the file SHO.BND and include it in the munged LVL file. That way, every path named in SHO.BND will become a level boundary. "boundary" is indeed an identifier, like "lvl" or "class".
#2.5 - not asked, but you can have multiple boundaries. As long as you are inside at least one boundary, you are "in-bounds".
#3 - Yes you can have different boundaries for different layers, but it's not as simple as Zerted suggests. Due to a particularity of the munge process, *all* paths are ALWAYS loaded. What this means is: if you put a boundary in your CTF layer and one in your Conquest layer, but both are mentioned in your level's single .BND file, they will BOTH always be active. Both paths are always loaded, and that BND file is always loaded, so they are both always active.
So how do you do it?
Well. An .MRQ file is a .REQ file, but it specifies all the info for a specific game mode. So what you do is, if you had for example SHO.BND which included 2 paths:
"CTF-boundary"
"Conquest-boundary"
You would:
- Make 2 new .BND files, SHO-CTF.BND and SHO-Conquest.BND, and have each one reference only the boundary it needs.
- Delete the reference to "boundary" "SHO" in your world's .REQ file.
- Add a reference to "boundary" "SHO-CTF" in the CTF.MRQ file, and add a reference to "boundary" "SHO-Conquest" in the Conquest.MRQ file.
What this does is, even though both paths are always loaded, only the .BND for CTF is loaded in CTF, so only one path is actually named as a boundary in CTF.
I hope that was clear,
Mike Z
- jangoisbaddest
- Lieutenant General
- Posts: 661
- Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 12:10 am
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: All Along The Watchtower