Custom Sound Effects. Got Them Working!
Moderator: Moderators
-
- General
- Posts: 776
- Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 5:01 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Custom Sound Effects. Got Them Working!
I don't know if anyone has done this yet for SWBF2 but I have added custom sound to SWBF1 so if not then maybe this is a question for the devs.
Ok I go into my data file then go into sound then worlds then make a new folder named my Mod ID I setup the right files folder etc. then I go to my LUA and add ReadDataFile("dc:sound\\ID.lvl;IDgcw") Then I guess this is where I go wrong I open the VisualMunge and check the Sound box and tell it to look at my side that I made. Then munge. It shows all these weird error for the sound folders of the shipped world that are there since I made the datafile and then it doesn't even make a sound .LVL in the munged folder? Where am I going wrong?
What am I doing wrong or leaving out? There must be something new that SWBF2 does to read sounds that SWBF1 didn't? I am pretty sure its not anything wrong in the folder with all the config files.
This comes up when I clean the munge with sound checked.
Could Not Find C:\BF2_ModTools\data_VRD\_LVL_PC\Sound\common.bnk
Thank You
Oh ya was there a sound doc with the tools. I thought I saw one then I went and check and there was nothing. I think my got deleted..... that is if there ever was one!
Ok I go into my data file then go into sound then worlds then make a new folder named my Mod ID I setup the right files folder etc. then I go to my LUA and add ReadDataFile("dc:sound\\ID.lvl;IDgcw") Then I guess this is where I go wrong I open the VisualMunge and check the Sound box and tell it to look at my side that I made. Then munge. It shows all these weird error for the sound folders of the shipped world that are there since I made the datafile and then it doesn't even make a sound .LVL in the munged folder? Where am I going wrong?
What am I doing wrong or leaving out? There must be something new that SWBF2 does to read sounds that SWBF1 didn't? I am pretty sure its not anything wrong in the folder with all the config files.
This comes up when I clean the munge with sound checked.
Could Not Find C:\BF2_ModTools\data_VRD\_LVL_PC\Sound\common.bnk
Thank You
Oh ya was there a sound doc with the tools. I thought I saw one then I went and check and there was nothing. I think my got deleted..... that is if there ever was one!
Last edited by Vyse on Tue Mar 07, 2006 3:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.
-
- General
- Posts: 776
- Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 5:01 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Yay! PyschoFred is here to save the day!!
Ok I edited the soundmunge and sound clean munge. I got the visual munge to munge the sound file I setup and make a .lvl. I know becuase I go to lvl_PC then Sound and there I see my mapId.lvl sound lvl.
When I put more sounds in my streams folder of my sounds folder and then munge again the mapId.lvl gets bigger so I know its updating it!
The only problem is that visual munge doesn't copy the sound folder to my maps munged folder. Now I have copied the munged sound folder from lvl_PC and put it manually into the addon maps data then lvl_pc folder and nothing happens in game. So I don't know if it didn't work because visual munge needs to do it or what... it should work... I hope you can figure it out! I know you can. Note: I have a .asfx a .st4 in my Worlds sound folder along with the .reqs and .snd. I am just trying to add custom sound and sound effects so would I need a .stm or .mus I didn't with the SWBF1 tools.
Your the best Fred!
My map ID is VRD
Lines I added to soundmunge.bat
@call soundmungedir _BUILD\sound\worlds\vrd\%MUNGE_DIR% sound\worlds\vrd sound\worlds\vrd\%MUNGE_PLATFORM% %MUNGE_PLATFORM% _BUILD _LVL_%MUNGE_PLATFORM%\sound _BUILD\sound vrd
Lines I added to soundclean.bat
@call soundcleandir _BUILD\sound\worlds\vrd\%MUNGE_DIR% _LVL_%MUNGE_PLATFORM%\sound\vrd.lvl vrd
Ok I edited the soundmunge and sound clean munge. I got the visual munge to munge the sound file I setup and make a .lvl. I know becuase I go to lvl_PC then Sound and there I see my mapId.lvl sound lvl.
When I put more sounds in my streams folder of my sounds folder and then munge again the mapId.lvl gets bigger so I know its updating it!
The only problem is that visual munge doesn't copy the sound folder to my maps munged folder. Now I have copied the munged sound folder from lvl_PC and put it manually into the addon maps data then lvl_pc folder and nothing happens in game. So I don't know if it didn't work because visual munge needs to do it or what... it should work... I hope you can figure it out! I know you can. Note: I have a .asfx a .st4 in my Worlds sound folder along with the .reqs and .snd. I am just trying to add custom sound and sound effects so would I need a .stm or .mus I didn't with the SWBF1 tools.
Your the best Fred!
My map ID is VRD
Lines I added to soundmunge.bat
@call soundmungedir _BUILD\sound\worlds\vrd\%MUNGE_DIR% sound\worlds\vrd sound\worlds\vrd\%MUNGE_PLATFORM% %MUNGE_PLATFORM% _BUILD _LVL_%MUNGE_PLATFORM%\sound _BUILD\sound vrd
Lines I added to soundclean.bat
@call soundcleandir _BUILD\sound\worlds\vrd\%MUNGE_DIR% _LVL_%MUNGE_PLATFORM%\sound\vrd.lvl vrd
-
- General
- Posts: 776
- Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 5:01 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Well...literally all it would do is copy it to your addon/mymod/_LVL_PC dir, so if you copy it yourself that'll achieve the same result with regards to getting it working.
So if it doesn't work, there's still something broken. Are you loading it from your mission lua? ReadDataFile("dc:SOUND\\etc")
(^.^)
Mike Z
So if it doesn't work, there's still something broken. Are you loading it from your mission lua? ReadDataFile("dc:SOUND\\etc")
(^.^)
Mike Z
-
- General
- Posts: 776
- Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 5:01 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
What exactly do I copy over myself.. The munged Sound .lvl from the lvl_PC sounds folder? Because I tried that and it didn't work. I made a folder under addon\VRD\data\lvl_pc\ called sound so now it looks like thisPAN-Fnord wrote:Well...literally all it would do is copy it to your addon/mymod/_LVL_PC dir, so if you copy it yourself that'll achieve the same result with regards to getting it working.
So if it doesn't work, there's still something broken. Are you loading it from your mission lua? ReadDataFile("dc:SOUND\\etc")
(^.^)
Mike Z
addon\VRD\data\lvl_pc\sound\ I put the .lvl from lvl_pc sound in!
This is the line I added to my LUA My modID is VRD:
Code: Select all
ReadDataFile("dc:sound\\VRD.lvl;VRDgcw")
Code: Select all
OpenAudioStream("dc:sound\\VRD.lvl", "VRD");
OpenAudioStream("dc:sound\\VRD.lvl", "VRD");
I think what I am doing wrong is in visual munge. What am I supposed to have checked when I hit the munge button to munge the sound to the lvl_pc sound folder. Note: At this point I already have munged my common and side so all I should have to have check is Sound? Is that right or do I need to check Sounds Only and Audio Streams that are on the right of Visual Munge.
In case I did this wrong aswell. Here are the .bats for the sound that I edited. I changed them because they kept giving me errors from the other worlds that were there from when I made the data folder for the map. So I took them out... that may of been a bad thing though lol but the errors go away!
Content of soundclean.bat
Code: Select all
@if %1x==x goto noplatform
@set MUNGE_PLATFORM=%1
@set MUNGE_DIR=MUNGED\%MUNGE_PLATFORM%
@rem Clean world specific sound data
@call soundcleandir _BUILD\sound\worlds\vrd\%MUNGE_DIR% _LVL_%MUNGE_PLATFORM%\sound\vrd.lvl vrd
@goto exit
:noplatform
@echo Platform must be specified as the first argument
:exit
Code: Select all
@if %1x==x goto noplatform
@set MUNGE_PLATFORM=%1
@set MUNGE_DIR=MUNGED\%MUNGE_PLATFORM%
@rem Munge world specific sound data
@call soundmungedir _BUILD\sound\worlds\vrd\%MUNGE_DIR% sound\worlds\vrd sound\worlds\vrd\%MUNGE_PLATFORM% %MUNGE_PLATFORM% _BUILD _LVL_%MUNGE_PLATFORM%\sound _BUILD\sound vrd
@goto exit
:noplatform
@echo Platform must be specified as the first argument
:exit
Code: Select all
@set PLATFORM=%2
@echo Munging %1 for %PLATFORM%
@if %3x==rebuildx @set SOUNDNODATECHECK=1
@if %PLATFORM%x==x @set PLATFORM=PC
cd _BUILD\sound
@if %3x==onlyworldx goto onlyworld
:onlyworld
set SOUNDLVL=VRD
call munge %PLATFORM%
cd ..\..
set SOUNDLVL=
@if %3x==rebuildx @set SOUNDNODATECHECK=
@if /i not %PLATFORM%==xbox goto exit
xbcp -d -y -t -r -f _lvl_xbox\*.lvl xe:\Battlefront2\Data\_lvl_xbox\
xbcp -d -y -t -r -f _lvl_xbox\*.mvs xe:\Battlefront2\Data\_lvl_xbox\
xbcp -d -y -t _build_xbox\dsstdfx.bin xe:\Battlefront2\Data\
:exit
Have you gotten a custom sound effect/soundstream working? If you have done it then atleast we know its possible?
-
- General
- Posts: 776
- Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 5:01 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Just wanted to let you know I got custom sound effects working in a map but the way I got it working is... well.. intesting.
What I did was setup a clone map in BBuilder. The first SWBF Tools.
I setup the idencial sound folder etc. munged it when to the addon folder it creates went into the map it made. Copied the sound for IT made and pasted it into my maps addon folder.
I still havn't gotten Soundstreams to work though. In SWBF1 I put the mid distance divsor as 2? Now in zero edtor there is a actually little ball in side the soundstream, I don't know if thats what is cause it or not...
Anyway, I think there is something seriously wrong with Visual munges sound mechanics. If you have gotten customs working in visual munge then I am wrong.... but it sure looks like its not munging sounds right!
I think the attempt to seperate the munge system into different section.... well not to be mean, but it just isn't working out nice. BFBuilder was better in that aspect. Oh and you could call up your LUA and SKY files on the fly as well... OK ok So I like BFBuilder better.
What I did was setup a clone map in BBuilder. The first SWBF Tools.
I setup the idencial sound folder etc. munged it when to the addon folder it creates went into the map it made. Copied the sound for IT made and pasted it into my maps addon folder.
I still havn't gotten Soundstreams to work though. In SWBF1 I put the mid distance divsor as 2? Now in zero edtor there is a actually little ball in side the soundstream, I don't know if thats what is cause it or not...
Anyway, I think there is something seriously wrong with Visual munges sound mechanics. If you have gotten customs working in visual munge then I am wrong.... but it sure looks like its not munging sounds right!
I think the attempt to seperate the munge system into different section.... well not to be mean, but it just isn't working out nice. BFBuilder was better in that aspect. Oh and you could call up your LUA and SKY files on the fly as well... OK ok So I like BFBuilder better.
-
- General
- Posts: 776
- Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 5:01 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
PAN-Fnord wrote:Well, I just meant having VMunge copy the munged Sound folder (with whichever munged lvls you created) to the BF2\addon dir, which it doesn't do by default right now, though it does copy Sides and Worlds and other folders. :^) We got the rest of that though.
Mike Z
I tried copying the munge lvl myself. Which would be what your saying the program should do anyways and it doesn't work. The reason which I think PyschoFred is saying is that right now the muge calls for assets that aren't there. You will get errors saying swoosh.wav could not be found.
Now the qustion is does the error pretaining to the other sound config folder in the mod tools Mess up the munge of your own custom sound world config files?
Since I copied the Vmunge's sound munge and it didn't work I would say it is messing up my custom worlds sound folder.
Like I said a little above. BFBuilders soundmunge worked..... and the Munged lvl worked....
THIS is so cool.. Actual Game Devs having a conversation on my thread!!! BTW Fred I knew you would come to the rescue!
-
- General
- Posts: 776
- Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 5:01 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
-
- Sith Master
- Posts: 2636
- Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 12:40 am
- Projects :: Designated Days + LFC + GT vs SWBFC
- xbox live or psn: Master Revan
- Location: GDSS Philadelphia