Page 1 of 1

Misp animation textures (hardpoints) in a MSH model [Solved]

Posted: Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:24 am
by Red04
Hey all. As some of you know about 4 months ago I finally managed to launch Red04's Conversion Map Pack. Although the maps worked correctly in SWBF there were still things to be polished and I made a list of bugs that were in each of the maps. I've gotten to work again to solve each of these bugs and present a new version.

Yesterday I fixed Coruscant: Jedi Temple completely and today I continue with Dagobah. Everything was fine... until I found this!

Image

I saw that the texture of the leaves (specifically from dag1_prop_barrier_1.msh) were misplaced. The left screenshot shows a converted Dagobah map where in theory these animations should be, while on the right it's in my conversion, which there are rarely at the bottom instead on the top. Does anyone know how to move these textures/animations to put them in the right place?

I also realized that it could be related to null objects called hard points. The weird thing is that they are in the place they should be when I open XSI, but not when I load the map ingame. Something similar has happened with a Felucia lamp post.

Image

Does anyone know how to fix it?

Re: Misplaced animation textures (hardpoints?) in a MSH mode

Posted: Wed Aug 29, 2018 7:44 pm
by Calrissian97
For hardpoints, make sure that inside your ODF you're calling the correct name of them. Even if the hardpoint is exactly where it should be in XSI, it will default to dummyroot (Like what you see there) if the game can't find the name of a hardpoint inside the ODF.

Re: Misplaced animation textures (hardpoints?) in a MSH mode

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:51 am
by Red04
I have checked fel1_bld_post.odf and it has the same name as the hard point, but still have the same problem. :/

Here's the source code from fel1_bld_post.odf. I think it's ok:

Code: Select all

[GameObjectClass]

ClassLabel      =   "prop"
GeometryName    =   "fel1_bld_post.msh"


[Properties]        

GeometryName    =   "fel1_bld_post"


AttachOdf = "fel1_bldg_post_flare"
AttachToHardPoint = "hp_light_post_flare"

SoundProperty="post_hum"
Could it be related with collision fixes? It only happened ingame after doing this, before modifying the MSH the light showed itself in the right place.

Re: Misplaced animation textures (hardpoints?) in a MSH mode

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 5:13 pm
by giftheck
Maybe it's the hex-editing that's caused the hard points to default to the bone_root. You may need to use Softimage Mod Tool to edit the collision names.

Re: Misplaced animation textures (hardpoints?) in a MSH mode

Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 5:01 am
by Red04
ggctuk wrote:Maybe it's the hex-editing that's caused the hard points to default to the bone_root. You may need to use Softimage Mod Tool to edit the collision names.
No, in fact I haven't used the hexadecimal editor to change the collision names, only XSI Softimage. But I find it weird... And it only happens with some MSH coming from the SWBF2 assets.

Re: Misplaced animation textures (hardpoints?) in a MSH mode

Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 5:37 am
by giftheck
Red04 wrote:
ggctuk wrote:Maybe it's the hex-editing that's caused the hard points to default to the bone_root. You may need to use Softimage Mod Tool to edit the collision names.
No, in fact I haven't used the hexadecimal editor to change the collision names, only XSI Softimage. But I find it weird... And it only happens with some MSH coming from the SWBF2 assets.
By any chance did you freeze transforms at any time?

Re: Misplaced animation textures (hardpoints?) in a MSH mode

Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 12:18 pm
by Red04
Yes, I always freeze all transforms before exporting any MSH.

Re: Misplaced animation textures (hardpoints?) in a MSH mode

Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 12:20 pm
by giftheck
Red04 wrote:Yes, I always freeze all transforms before exporting any MSH.
You're not supposed to freeze the transforms of the hardpoints. So that's the issue: by freezing the transforms of the hardpoints they're treated as if they're in the 0/0/0 position.

Re: Misplaced animation textures (hardpoints?) in a MSH mode

Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 1:08 pm
by Red04
ggctuk wrote:
Red04 wrote:Yes, I always freeze all transforms before exporting any MSH.
You're not supposed to freeze the transforms of the hardpoints. So that's the issue: by freezing the transforms of the hardpoints they're treated as if they're in the 0/0/0 position.
Oh my bad... It already seemed to me that it was going to be freeze everything. I just tried (without freezing the hard points) and it works!

Thank you guys! :) Next time I'll try to take this detail into account so it doesn't happen again. :P