How to prevent wampa's jump?
Moderator: Moderators
-
- Second Lance Corporal
- Posts: 102
- Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:10 am
- Projects :: Droid Factory Conquest
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: Russian Federation
How to prevent wampa's jump?
Hello everyone again . I recently encountered one important issue when I created zombie troopers using weapons and animations wampa. I changed the combo file to prevent them from a dash attack, but they still jump when they just move and reduce the distance to the target. I reread the entire forum for several days and could not find a solution to this issue. The only thing I could figure out, the problem is most likely not in the combo file, but probably in the weapon, or it is somehow hardcoded in the odf file. I conducted many tests with different units using melee attacks and they all jump. Except acklays. They have the line IsAcklay = 1. But this leads to the fall of units through the ground.
I know that razac920 did it in his mod. I would like to know how. Help me please.
EDIT: Changing the jump height to 0 is not a solution. Units will "try" to jump and it will look ridiculous.
I know that razac920 did it in his mod. I would like to know how. Help me please.
EDIT: Changing the jump height to 0 is not a solution. Units will "try" to jump and it will look ridiculous.
-
- Gametoast Staff
- Posts: 4910
- Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:55 pm
- Location: SoCal, USA
Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?
Code: Select all
ControlSpeed = "jump 0.03 0.03 0.35"
- Benoz
- Corporal
- Posts: 142
- Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:34 pm
- Projects :: Clone Wars Era Mod Version 2
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: Germany
Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?
Are you sure the issue is not with the combo file? You said you removed the dash attack but did you also remove the jump attack? Or do you want your units to be able to jump attack?
-
- Second Lance Corporal
- Posts: 102
- Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:10 am
- Projects :: Droid Factory Conquest
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: Russian Federation
Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?
AQT wrote:You could try setting all of these values to 0.Code: Select all
ControlSpeed = "jump 0.03 0.03 0.35"
Code: Select all
ControlSpeed = "jump 0.0 0.0 0.0"
Yes, I'm sure, I even tried to delete all lines in the combo file, and units just ran without attack and ... made jumps)The66Order66 wrote:Are you sure the issue is not with the combo file? You said you removed the dash attack but did you also remove the jump attack? Or do you want your units to be able to jump attack?
- Benoz
- Corporal
- Posts: 142
- Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:34 pm
- Projects :: Clone Wars Era Mod Version 2
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: Germany
Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?
Are you using the ODF of the wampa as a basis? Or do you use a soldier ODF with the wampa combo?
-
- Second Lance Corporal
- Posts: 102
- Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:10 am
- Projects :: Droid Factory Conquest
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: Russian Federation
Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?
Odf from my custom side, yes, soldier odf here is:The66Order66 wrote:Are you using the ODF of the wampa as a basis? Or do you use a soldier ODF with the wampa combo?
Hidden/Spoiler:
- Teancum
- Jedi Admin
- Posts: 11080
- Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently.
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: Indiana
Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?
Add this to your wampa ODF
Can't remember if this affects the first jump, or double jumps, but it's worth a test.
Code: Select all
EnergyCostJump = 200.0 // energy cost to jump
-
- Corporal
- Posts: 151
- Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 11:02 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?
If you want to stop a melee unit from being able to jump, go in the combo file and put InputLock("Jump") in the IDLE state. It locks the jump button, even for the AI. It might be more robust to put InputLock("Jump") in the other states too, so that you can't jump mid attack etc. It probably isn't necessary though. Except maybe for if the RECOVER states need it.
I don't know how to do it by changing the odfs, if it even can be done or if jumping is just a natural ability of the Soldier class.
PS, the wampa combo file already has InputLock(0.15, "Sprint", ""Jump", "Crouch"); The 0.15 means it's temporary though (this number sets a frame duration). You want the jump to be locked for the whole state, so change it to:
I just made a quick mod to test this and I couldn't jump as the wampa, so hopefully nothing else can either.
I don't know how to do it by changing the odfs, if it even can be done or if jumping is just a natural ability of the Soldier class.
PS, the wampa combo file already has InputLock(0.15, "Sprint", ""Jump", "Crouch"); The 0.15 means it's temporary though (this number sets a frame duration). You want the jump to be locked for the whole state, so change it to:
Code: Select all
InputLock(0.15, "Sprint", "Crouch");
InputLock("Jump")
-
- Second Lance Corporal
- Posts: 102
- Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:10 am
- Projects :: Droid Factory Conquest
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: Russian Federation
Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?
I already tried it, my lua have lineTeancum wrote:Add this to your wampa ODF
Can't remember if this affects the first jump, or double jumps, but it's worth a test.Code: Select all
EnergyCostJump = 200.0 // energy cost to jump
Code: Select all
EnergyCostJump = "9999"
I also tried this using the settings from acklay's combo. This only works for humans, AI also jumping.Sporadia wrote:If you want to stop a melee unit from being able to jump, go in the combo file and put InputLock("Jump") in the IDLE state. It locks the jump button, even for the AI. It might be more robust to put InputLock("Jump") in the other states too, so that you can't jump mid attack etc. It probably isn't necessary though. Except maybe for if the RECOVER states need it.
I don't know how to do it by changing the odfs, if it even can be done or if jumping is just a natural ability of the Soldier class.
PS, the wampa combo file already has InputLock(0.15, "Sprint", ""Jump", "Crouch"); The 0.15 means it's temporary though (this number sets a frame duration). You want the jump to be locked for the whole state, so change it to:I just made a quick mod to test this and I couldn't jump as the wampa, so hopefully nothing else can either.Code: Select all
InputLock(0.15, "Sprint", "Crouch"); InputLock("Jump")
-
- Corporal
- Posts: 151
- Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 11:02 pm
- Projects :: No Mod project currently
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?
I've genuinely just come back to say nevermind, I tested it on the other team and saw wampas jumping but I guess you already know.correctmushroom2013 wrote: I also tried this using the settings from acklay's combo. This only works for humans, AI also jumping.
- AnthonyBF2
- Sith
- Posts: 1255
- Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 3:55 pm
- Projects :: PS2+PSP Overhaul
Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?
JumpHeight = 0.0 should prevent them from jumping completely.
-
- Second Lance Corporal
- Posts: 102
- Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:10 am
- Projects :: Droid Factory Conquest
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: Russian Federation
Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?
Sorry but...AnthonyBF2 wrote:JumpHeight = 0.0 should prevent them from jumping completely.
They still jump, just playing the animation, but to a height equal to 0correctmushroom2013 wrote:EDIT: Changing the jump height to 0 is not a solution. Units will "try" to jump and it will look ridiculous.
EDIT: To cheat death is the power only one has achieved, but if we work together, I know we can discover the secret.
-
- Jedi
- Posts: 1194
- Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 7:58 pm
Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?
I prevented the Rancor's jump in this
https://www.moddb.com/games/star-wars-b ... asset-pack
But I dont remember how exactly. I think I did what Teancum said. I'm sure you'll see it if the files if you download it.
https://www.moddb.com/games/star-wars-b ... asset-pack
But I dont remember how exactly. I think I did what Teancum said. I'm sure you'll see it if the files if you download it.
-
- Second Lance Corporal
- Posts: 102
- Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:10 am
- Projects :: Droid Factory Conquest
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: Russian Federation
Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?
I guess how, the rancor's odf has line IsAcklay = 1. But if I use this line in my odf files, units just fall underground, because they don’t have a collision. And now... i guess know what the problem is.MileHighGuy wrote:I prevented the Rancor's jump in this
https://www.moddb.com/games/star-wars-b ... asset-pack
But I dont remember how exactly. I think I did what Teancum said. I'm sure you'll see it if the files if you download it.
Here is your post from 2014 year:
So, how me add a custom collision? Anywhere have a tut?MileHighGuy wrote: So IsAcklay = 1 also makes it so the units don't jump around like maniacs, they don't roll, crouch, or sprint on their own. They still sprint when following you. This is totally fine by me and is in fact preferred. So you wont have to worry about having your dinosaur jumping all the time and rolling away from grenades.
EDIT: I found a lot of tutorials, but I can’t download XSI because all links are 404 error. Any help?
-
- Jedi
- Posts: 1194
- Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 7:58 pm
Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?
Ok my bad you definitely don't need to go that far just to prevent jumping but if you want a Wampa with custom collision I already made one and included that in that download
-
- Second Lance Corporal
- Posts: 102
- Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:10 am
- Projects :: Droid Factory Conquest
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: Russian Federation
Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?
I'm afraid I have to. If it is connected with .msh files, I have 11 of it. I work with custom side with 11 zombie troopers and other races.MileHighGuy wrote:Ok my bad you definitely don't need to go that far just to prevent jumping but if you want a Wampa with custom collision I already made one and included that in that download
-
- Recruit Womprat Killer
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 10:42 am
- Projects :: Bountyhunter Mod
- xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
- Location: Earth
Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?
Here is the link for the zetools (with xsi modtools) if you still need it
http://gametoast.com/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=26664
http://gametoast.com/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=26664