How to prevent wampa's jump?

In this forum you will find and post information regarding the modding of Star Wars Battlefront 2. DO NOT POST MOD IDEAS/REQUESTS.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
correctmushroom2013
Second Lance Corporal
Second Lance Corporal
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:10 am
Projects :: Droid Factory Conquest
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 BDO
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Russian Federation

How to prevent wampa's jump?

Post by correctmushroom2013 »

Hello everyone again :). I recently encountered one important issue when I created zombie troopers using weapons and animations wampa. I changed the combo file to prevent them from a dash attack, but they still jump when they just move and reduce the distance to the target. I reread the entire forum for several days and could not find a solution to this issue. The only thing I could figure out, the problem is most likely not in the combo file, but probably in the weapon, or it is somehow hardcoded in the odf file. I conducted many tests with different units using melee attacks and they all jump. Except acklays. They have the line IsAcklay = 1. But this leads to the fall of units through the ground.
I know that razac920 did it in his mod. I would like to know how. Help me please.

EDIT: Changing the jump height to 0 is not a solution. Units will "try" to jump and it will look ridiculous.
AQT
Gametoast Staff
Gametoast Staff
Posts: 4910
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: SoCal, USA

Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?

Post by AQT »

Code: Select all

ControlSpeed            = "jump   0.03 0.03 0.35"
You could try setting all of these values to 0.
User avatar
Benoz
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:34 pm
Projects :: Clone Wars Era Mod Version 2
Games I'm Playing :: OldFront - EAFront
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Germany

Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?

Post by Benoz »

Are you sure the issue is not with the combo file? You said you removed the dash attack but did you also remove the jump attack? Or do you want your units to be able to jump attack?
correctmushroom2013
Second Lance Corporal
Second Lance Corporal
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:10 am
Projects :: Droid Factory Conquest
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 BDO
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Russian Federation

Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?

Post by correctmushroom2013 »

AQT wrote:

Code: Select all

ControlSpeed            = "jump   0.03 0.03 0.35"
You could try setting all of these values to 0.

Code: Select all

ControlSpeed            = "jump   0.0 0.0 0.0"
they jump anyway
The66Order66 wrote:Are you sure the issue is not with the combo file? You said you removed the dash attack but did you also remove the jump attack? Or do you want your units to be able to jump attack?
Yes, I'm sure, I even tried to delete all lines in the combo file, and units just ran without attack and ... made jumps)
User avatar
Benoz
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:34 pm
Projects :: Clone Wars Era Mod Version 2
Games I'm Playing :: OldFront - EAFront
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Germany

Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?

Post by Benoz »

Are you using the ODF of the wampa as a basis? Or do you use a soldier ODF with the wampa combo?
correctmushroom2013
Second Lance Corporal
Second Lance Corporal
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:10 am
Projects :: Droid Factory Conquest
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 BDO
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Russian Federation

Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?

Post by correctmushroom2013 »

The66Order66 wrote:Are you using the ODF of the wampa as a basis? Or do you use a soldier ODF with the wampa combo?
Odf from my custom side, yes, soldier odf here is:
Hidden/Spoiler:
[code][GameObjectClass]
ClassParent = "com_inf_default"

[Properties]
GeometryName = "dtr_inf_deadhelm"
GeometryLowRes = "dtr_inf_deadhelm_low1"

AnimationName = "dtr"
SkeletonName = "dtr"
SkeletonLowRes = "dtrlz"

SkeletonRootScale = "1.0"
SkeletonRootScaleLowRes = "1.0"

EnergyBar = "10"
EnergyRestore = "0"
EnergyDrainSprint = "9999"
EnergyMinSprint = "9999"
EnergyCostJump = "9999"
EnergyCostBowling = "9999"

UseDirectionalDeaths = 0
UseDirectionalJumps = 0

MapTexture = ""
MapScale = "0.0"

HurtSound = "wampahurt"
DeathSound = "wampadeath"
LowHealthSound = "wampa_chatter"
LowHealthThreshold = "1.1"

FirstPerson = "IMP\impstrp;imp_1st_stormtrooper"

WEAPONSECTION = 1
WeaponName1 = "dead_weap_lightsaber"
WeaponAmmo1 = 0

VOUnitType = 42

//Health
HealthType = "person"
MaxHealth = 1000.0

//Speed
MaxSpeed = 5.0 // base forward speed
MaxStrafeSpeed = 5.25 // base right/left speed
MaxTurnSpeed = 5.0 // base turn speed
JumpHeight = 0.0 // base jump height in meters

ControlSpeed = "jump 0.0 0.0 0.0"
ControlSpeed = "roll 0.0 0.0 0.0"
[/code]
User avatar
Teancum
Jedi Admin
Jedi Admin
Posts: 11080
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:42 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently.
Games I'm Playing :: Destiny
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Indiana

Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?

Post by Teancum »

Add this to your wampa ODF

Code: Select all

EnergyCostJump          = 200.0      // energy cost to jump
Can't remember if this affects the first jump, or double jumps, but it's worth a test.
Sporadia
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 11:02 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently
Games I'm Playing :: None
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?

Post by Sporadia »

If you want to stop a melee unit from being able to jump, go in the combo file and put InputLock("Jump") in the IDLE state. It locks the jump button, even for the AI. It might be more robust to put InputLock("Jump") in the other states too, so that you can't jump mid attack etc. It probably isn't necessary though. Except maybe for if the RECOVER states need it.

I don't know how to do it by changing the odfs, if it even can be done or if jumping is just a natural ability of the Soldier class.

PS, the wampa combo file already has InputLock(0.15, "Sprint", ""Jump", "Crouch"); The 0.15 means it's temporary though (this number sets a frame duration). You want the jump to be locked for the whole state, so change it to:

Code: Select all

InputLock(0.15, "Sprint", "Crouch");
InputLock("Jump")
I just made a quick mod to test this and I couldn't jump as the wampa, so hopefully nothing else can either.
correctmushroom2013
Second Lance Corporal
Second Lance Corporal
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:10 am
Projects :: Droid Factory Conquest
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 BDO
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Russian Federation

Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?

Post by correctmushroom2013 »

Teancum wrote:Add this to your wampa ODF

Code: Select all

EnergyCostJump          = 200.0      // energy cost to jump
Can't remember if this affects the first jump, or double jumps, but it's worth a test.
I already tried it, my lua have line

Code: Select all

EnergyCostJump          = "9999"
And yes, this is affect to first jump
Sporadia wrote:If you want to stop a melee unit from being able to jump, go in the combo file and put InputLock("Jump") in the IDLE state. It locks the jump button, even for the AI. It might be more robust to put InputLock("Jump") in the other states too, so that you can't jump mid attack etc. It probably isn't necessary though. Except maybe for if the RECOVER states need it.

I don't know how to do it by changing the odfs, if it even can be done or if jumping is just a natural ability of the Soldier class.

PS, the wampa combo file already has InputLock(0.15, "Sprint", ""Jump", "Crouch"); The 0.15 means it's temporary though (this number sets a frame duration). You want the jump to be locked for the whole state, so change it to:

Code: Select all

InputLock(0.15, "Sprint", "Crouch");
InputLock("Jump")
I just made a quick mod to test this and I couldn't jump as the wampa, so hopefully nothing else can either.
I also tried this using the settings from acklay's combo. This only works for humans, AI also jumping.
Sporadia
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 11:02 pm
Projects :: No Mod project currently
Games I'm Playing :: None
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set

Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?

Post by Sporadia »

correctmushroom2013 wrote: I also tried this using the settings from acklay's combo. This only works for humans, AI also jumping.
I've genuinely just come back to say nevermind, I tested it on the other team and saw wampas jumping but I guess you already know.
User avatar
AnthonyBF2
Sith
Sith
Posts: 1255
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 3:55 pm
Projects :: PS2+PSP Overhaul

Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?

Post by AnthonyBF2 »

JumpHeight = 0.0 should prevent them from jumping completely.
correctmushroom2013
Second Lance Corporal
Second Lance Corporal
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:10 am
Projects :: Droid Factory Conquest
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 BDO
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Russian Federation

Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?

Post by correctmushroom2013 »

AnthonyBF2 wrote:JumpHeight = 0.0 should prevent them from jumping completely.
Sorry but...
correctmushroom2013 wrote:EDIT: Changing the jump height to 0 is not a solution. Units will "try" to jump and it will look ridiculous.
They still jump, just playing the animation, but to a height equal to 0

EDIT: To cheat death is the power only one has achieved, but if we work together, I know we can discover the secret.
MileHighGuy
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 1194
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 7:58 pm

Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?

Post by MileHighGuy »

I prevented the Rancor's jump in this
https://www.moddb.com/games/star-wars-b ... asset-pack

But I dont remember how exactly. I think I did what Teancum said. I'm sure you'll see it if the files if you download it.
correctmushroom2013
Second Lance Corporal
Second Lance Corporal
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:10 am
Projects :: Droid Factory Conquest
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 BDO
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Russian Federation

Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?

Post by correctmushroom2013 »

MileHighGuy wrote:I prevented the Rancor's jump in this
https://www.moddb.com/games/star-wars-b ... asset-pack

But I dont remember how exactly. I think I did what Teancum said. I'm sure you'll see it if the files if you download it.
I guess how, the rancor's odf has line IsAcklay = 1. But if I use this line in my odf files, units just fall underground, because they don’t have a collision. And now... i guess know what the problem is.

Here is your post from 2014 year:
MileHighGuy wrote: So IsAcklay = 1 also makes it so the units don't jump around like maniacs, they don't roll, crouch, or sprint on their own. They still sprint when following you. This is totally fine by me and is in fact preferred. So you wont have to worry about having your dinosaur jumping all the time and rolling away from grenades.
So, how me add a custom collision? Anywhere have a tut?

EDIT: I found a lot of tutorials, but I can’t download XSI because all links are 404 error. Any help?
MileHighGuy
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 1194
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 7:58 pm

Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?

Post by MileHighGuy »

Ok my bad you definitely don't need to go that far just to prevent jumping but if you want a Wampa with custom collision I already made one and included that in that download
correctmushroom2013
Second Lance Corporal
Second Lance Corporal
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:10 am
Projects :: Droid Factory Conquest
Games I'm Playing :: SWBF2 BDO
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Russian Federation

Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?

Post by correctmushroom2013 »

MileHighGuy wrote:Ok my bad you definitely don't need to go that far just to prevent jumping but if you want a Wampa with custom collision I already made one and included that in that download
I'm afraid I have to. If it is connected with .msh files, I have 11 of it. I work with custom side with 11 zombie troopers and other races. :sick:
Duskwingstudios
Recruit Womprat Killer
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 10:42 am
Projects :: Bountyhunter Mod
Games I'm Playing :: Muchos gamos
xbox live or psn: No gamertag set
Location: Earth

Re: How to prevent wampa's jump?

Post by Duskwingstudios »

Here is the link for the zetools (with xsi modtools) if you still need it
http://gametoast.com/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=26664
Post Reply